Blog

“Ray Bradbury’s Pillar Of Fire” Audience Reviews

  |   Acting, Blog   |   No comment



 
Below: some audience member reviews for “Ray Bradbury’s Pillar Of Fire” from its Los Angeles debut.
Some LA critic reviews are here.

 
MEREDITH MCGOWAN June 05, 2015
“Bill Oberst Jr. was brilliant and compelling.”
 
PHILLIS KEMP, June 06, 2015
“If you can only see one show this year, THIS IS THE ONE.”
 
PHILLIP ROTH June 18, 2015
“Outstanding performance from Oberst, a performer of enormous charisma who turns Bradbury’s cryptic, eerie story into a compelling one hour drama. Highly recommended.”
 
JOANN THOMAS June 26, 2015
“I was enthralled when I saw it the first time. With great pleasure I returned for the final performance and was not disappointed. One could even close their eyes and see this character come to life – colorful, humorous, full of rage, and sad, all at the same time. Bravo.”
 
PAUL EDWARDS June 07, 2015
“Bill Oberst Jr. gives life to Ray Bradbury’s words. Through intense physicality and an impassioned delivery, he tells the story of William Lantry, the last monster in the world. A haunting story, masterfully told and staged. This show gets my highest recommendation.”
 
FRANCISCO BRACHO June 08, 2015
“The performance is masterful. A dance of darkness begins and we find dead superstition arisen as William Lantry in the NEW world. Bradbury’s masterful text is resurrected, the sound exact, and the future scientist appropriately serene. Brilliant to construct a world with some dirt, chalk and our minds. You will be consumed!”
 
ED GOODMAN June 15, 2015
“Bill Oberst Jr is fantastic. Let’s just get that out of the way. It’s a one man show and he’s the man. And he’s huge. Such a great performance. To say “And the the material is Ray Bradbury” is underselling the weight of what’s going on here. This is Ray Bradbury at his early best. You can see so much of his future stories in this piece. Poe, Lovecraft, fire, autumn, a seemingly absurd premise played out to its logical and most human conclusion. Censorship. Persecution. Technological neo-puritanism. It’s all there. And in Oberst’s skillful hands, it just flows. There are no real highlights. The whole thing is a highlight. Here’s how you know. The lights went out and I was sorry it was over. In fact, with 2000 shows to see, I’ll probably see this one again. Pillar of Fire doesn’t have many performances and not a lot of people are talking about it. It’s not a fringy piece. It’s just a great piece of living, breathing art that you probably won’t see anywhere else. So, if you want to balance your Fringe dance card with some serious kick ass, this is the show. And now that I’ve written about it, I’m sure. I am gonna see it again.”
 
ERNEST KEARNEY, July 03, 2015
“Truly remarkable work. One one of the very best, if not the best, solo show the Fringe had to offer.”
 
Some 2015 Hollywood Fringe audience reviews are archived at http://www.hollywoodfringe.org/projects/2496?tab=reviews.

AUTHOR - Bill Oberst

No Comments

Post A Comment

CommentLuv badge